2005 Tournament of Champions Results

Online Casino Real Money
2006 Tournament of Champions Qualifiers
2009 World Series of Poker
WSOP Archives

2005 Tournament of Champions

The 2005 Tournament of Champions changed significantly from the 2004 winner-take-all event that was won by Annie Duke. Additional payouts were made down to the 9 who made the final table plus the invitation of a lot more players. Here is the summary of the daily events that took place, and remember that the ESPN broadcast is scheduled to take place on December 24th, 2005.

Sunday November 6
For the first day of the 3 day freeroll invitational event, 114 of the top players in the game showed up including Phil Ivey, Jennifer Harman, Chris Ferguson, Allen Cunningham, Hoyt Corkins, Johnny Chan, Mike Matusow, the traditionally late Phil Hellmuth along with the top performers in last years WSOP Circuit tournaments. Prize pool is $2,000,000 in size with $1,000,000 going to the winner. The payout structure will only reward the 9 who make it to the final table starting at $25,000. Today's field played down to 30 players who will play again on Monday, and surprisingly Phil Hellmuth is the chip leader after coming to the tables 3 hours late beginning with a whittled pile of 8,000 chips and rising to 110,900. Mike "The Mouth" Matusow is in second and Hoyt Corkins is third. Come back for updates!

  1. Phil Hellmuth 110,900 chips
  2. Mike Matusow 107,600 chips
  3. Hoyt Corkins 65,700 chips
  4. Lonnie Alexander 58,600 chips
  5. Aaron Bartley 53,200 chips
  6. Michael Mizrachi 46,700 chips
  7. Johnny Chan 46,500 chips
  8. Mark Hanna 44,700 chips
  9. Neal Gersony 42,300 chips
Monday November 7
The second day lasted 4 hours and 57 minutes for the field of players to go from 30 players down to the 9 for the final table. There was spectacular action to be seen from Doyle Brunson who drew cheers as he doubled and quadrupled up at times. Doyle went out in 10th place, just missing a seat at the final table. Mike Matusow who survived losing portions of his stack to end up 2nd at the final table, also had great hands for the crowds to see. Phil Hellmuth Jr. continued staying on top of his game and ended up the chip leader for the tournament for Day 2. Come back tomorrow to find out what happened and who won!
  1. Phil Hellmuth Jr. 281,500 chips
  2. Mike Matusow 179,000 chips
  3. Brandon Adams 135,500 chips
  4. Tony Bloom 130,000 chips
  5. Steven Dannenmann 122,000 chips
  6. Keith Sexton 95,500 chips
  7. Hoyt Corkins 95,000 chips
  8. Grant Lang 61,500 chips
  9. David Levi 41,000 chips
Tuesday November 8
Mike "The Mouth" Matusow is the winner of this year's Tournament of Champions. Mike takes home $1,000,000 along with a trophy as the victor. (It must have been his new lucky sunglasses giving anyone who looks at them the finger.) The tournament will air on ESPN on December 24th. In this event, Mike gave as much skill with the cards as he did mouth to the other players and the crowd so it will be interesting when seen. When you add the fact the Steve Dannenmann called Phil Hellmuth Jr. a punk for how Phil conducted himself during the event, you ask the question how much of the real action will ESPN show? We'll find out on Christmas Eve 2005. Here is how the final table turned out:
  1. Mike Matusow $1,000,000
  2. Hoyt Corkins $325,000
  3. Phil Hellmuth Jr. $250,000
  4. Tony Bloom $150,000
  5. Steven Dannenmann $100,000
  6. Grant Lang $75,000
  7. David Levi $50,000
  8. Keith Sexton $25,000
  9. Brandon Adams $25,000
Contact Us | Site Map