2008 Event 34 Pot-Limit Omaha W/Re-Buys

Online Casino Real Money
World Poker Tour
2008 World Series of Poker
2008 WSOP Event Schedule and Reports
WSOP Archives

2008 WSOP Event 34 Pot-Limit Omaha W/Re-Buys

Individual Event Reports

Event 34 Pot-Limit Omaha W/Re-Buys Day 1

The 320 entrants to this tournament paid quite a bit to play as 1350 rebuys were made on top of the $1,500 entry fee. This created a prize pool of $2,407,125 that will be split between the top 36 finishers, and the new champion receiving $577,725 for their efforts. Action began at 12 noon with rebuys continuing for the first 3 levels. Blinds started at 50/100. It seemed players were going all-in and rebuying as fast as they could. In fact, Sorel Mizzi, Peter Gould and another player went all-in completely blind on one hand, leaving Mizzi the winner with a pair of deuces and 30,000 chips. At another table Carl Olson, Bill Chen, Ted Lawson and another player went all-in preflop blind which led to disaster for all but Olson who ended up with quad 10's and 24,000 chips. Phil Ivey went ultra aggressive, going all in with every hand he played. At one point he lost all of his chips and went for the rebuy after which he jumped to 95,000.

When playtime was over, it was natural that the action would tighten up. Those who began round 4 with just a few chips were prey for those who had big stacks. Eliminated were Jamie Gold, Erick Lindgren, Issac Haxton, Juha Helppi, Nam Le, Michael Binger, Bill Chen, Tony Cousineau, Robert Williamson III, Roland deWolfe, David Grey and Andy Black. The day was ended around 1:30 am on the 19th of June. We know that 48 players remained for the next round of play which will take place tomorrow for Day 2. Here are the top 9 with chip counts:

  1. Frank Vizza 408,000
  2. Daniel Makowsky 397,500
  3. Kyle Kloeckner 343,500
  4. Kevin O'Donnell 266,500
  5. Thomas Wahlroos 237,000
  6. Jerrod Ankenman 191,000
  7. Layne Flack 189,500
  8. Nathan Doudney 181,000
  9. Tim West 168,000

Event 34 Pot-Limit Omaha W/Re-Buys Day 2

Official payout numbers for the final table:

  1. $577,725
  2. $355,050
  3. $222,659
  4. $180,534
  5. $144,427
  6. $114,338
  7. $90,267
  8. $72,213
  9. $54,160
The second round of action started at 2:00 pm for the 48 survivors of Day 1. Bustouts continued in the race for a seat at the final table. Jared Hamby was busted by Layne Flack when he ran into the full house that Layne hit on the river (A's/J's). Clonie Gowan lost to her opponents straight and had to take the journey to the rail. Barney Boatman was also busted after running into the set of Aces presented to him by Layne Flack. (Guess you could say that Layne had a good day.) Ted Forrest started the day on fire and continued on to make a seat for the final table, putting him within striking distance of another WSOP bracelet. Jacobo Fernandez, is also playing hard and doing it well making his 3rd final table of this year's WSOP. After 10 hours which is rather on the short end of table play at the WSOP, the nine players were determined. Here is who will be playing for the bracelet tomorrow:
  1. Kyle Kloeckner 845,000
  2. Ted Forrest 757,000
  3. Michael Guzzardi 751,000
  4. Dario Alioto 659,000
  5. Layne Flack 601,000
  6. Daniel Makowsky 493,000
  7. Frank Vizza 378,000
  8. Jacobo Fernandez 348,000
  9. Tim West 187,000

Event 34 Pot-Limit Omaha W/Re-Buys Final Table

Notes from the event as given by the WSOP:

The tournament was played over three consecutive days. The final table was played on the ESPN main stage. Coverage was provided by Bluff Media on ESPN360. Last year's champion Alan Smurfit, from Ireland, played in this event. But he did not cash. This brings the current streak to 34 straight non-cashes for defending champions in their respective events.

The 2008 $1,500 Pot-Limit Omaha with Re-Buys champion is Layne Flack. Flack collected $577,725 for first place, which was his largest poker payday ever. With six gold bracelets, he is now tied with Jay Heimowitz, Men "the Master" Nguyen, and T.J. Cloutier for seventh on the all-time WSOP wins list. All six wins have come within an 11-year span. Flack's lifetime earnings at the WSOP total $2,268,357.

Flack invested $33,000 in this tournament, including 21 re-buys. "When we made the money, everybody was cheering," Flack stated. "Everybody was a winner but me. I still had to get to at least 12th place just to get my money back." The final table lasted about seven hours. The heads-up match lasted only a few hands.

In the final hand for Layne Flack and Daniel Makowsky, Makowsky put all of his chips in preflop of which Layne called. Layne showed K K J 2 and Makowsky turned over A K 4 4. The board revealed 10 7 5 6 K which gave Flack a set of Kings and another bracelet to wear on his arm as the champion of this event. This one should be good watchin' on ESPN when it is shown. Keep you eyes open for it!

  1. Layne Flack $577,725
  2. Daniel Makowsky $355,050
  3. Jacobo Fernandez $222,659
  4. Dario Alioto $180,534
  5. Ted Forrest $144,427
  6. Kyle Kloeckner $114,338
  7. Michael Guzzardi $90,267
  8. Tim West $72,213
  9. Frank Vizza $54,160

Site Map 2