2008 Event 36 No-Limit Hold’em

Online Casino Real Money
World Poker Tour
2008 World Series of Poker
2008 WSOP Event Schedule and Reports
WSOP Archives

2008 WSOP Event 36 No-Limit Hold’em

Individual Event Reports

Event 36 -- No-Limit Hold’em Day 1

A healthy 2,447 players came to the tables for more No Limit Hold'Em. With the $1,500 that each player paid for an entry fee, a pool of $3,340,155 was made. Money will go to the top 198 finishers with the new champion pocketing a nice, healthy $610,304. Starting stacks will be 3,000 and blinds at 25/50.

There will be 187 to move on to the next round on Day 2 at 2:00 pm. Here are the top 9 with chip counts:

  1. Owen Crowe 170,000
  2. Danny Wong 114,500
  3. Leonid Yanovski 106,500
  4. Jim Mackowiak 103,400
  5. RW Best 103,200
  6. Richard Deeb 99,600
  7. Duncan Bell 99,300
  8. Chris Klodnicki 99,200
  9. Bryan Paris 94,900

Event 36 -- No-Limit Hold’em Day 2

Money payouts for the final table players:

  1. $610,304
  2. $389,128
  3. $258,862
  4. $217,110
  5. $177,028
  6. $140,286
  7. $106,884
  8. $81,833
  9. $56,782
Action got underway at the Brasilia room at 2:00 as planned. Freddy Deeb had a bad beat when he went all-in with pocket A's against Can Kim Hua who had Ks Qc when four more clubs hit the felt giving Hua a flush and the remainder of Deeb's chips. J.C. Tran also busted out when his opponent paired his A Q cards by the river. Issac Haxton also became a railbird when his A Q lost out to a player that turned his pocket K's into a set on the flop. The rest of the 178 players went out of the tournament over a 12 hour period with the day ending around 2:00 am. The final nine will continue play tomorrow with blinds at 10000/20000 and a ante of 3000.
  1. Jesper Hougaard 1,582,000
  2. Cody Slaubaugh 1,419,000
  3. Danny Wong 1,105,000
  4. Rick Solis 900,000
  5. Justin Wald 873,000
  6. Owen Crowe 674,000
  7. Doug Middleton 356,000
  8. John Shipley 269,000
  9. Aaron Kanter 165,000

Event 36 -- No-Limit Hold’em Final Table

Here are notes on the event from the WSOP:

This is the fourth of seven $1,500 No-Limit Hold'em tournaments on the 2008 WSOP schedule. This game and buy-in level has consistently proven to be the most popular draw on the schedule in recent years, aside from the Main Event. The 2008 $1,500 buy-in No-Limit Hold'em champion Jesper Hougaard. He is a 24-year-old professional poker player. Hougaard's interest in poker was largely inspired by the success of fellow countryman Gus Hansen. After "the Great Dane" won several major poker tournaments a few years ago, poker's popularity exploded in Denmark, carrying Hougaard amongst its newest converts.

Hougaard dominated play during most of the final day. However, there was one point during heads-up play when he lost this chip lead. He then went on a much needed break. Hougaard stated that he called his father and brother, living in Denmark. He also put on headphones and listened to a popular song called "Eye of the Tiger." Fifteen minutes after the break, Hougaard was the victor. The final table lasted eight hours. The heads-up match went for about 90 minutes.

At the beginning of the heads up, Jesper had 2,500,000 chips and Cody had his own castle of chips with 4,800,000. Jesper began a campaign of aggresive play with huge bets of 500k and 1 million to win big pots. He played like a man who wanted to taste victory and wear a WSOP gold bracelet. In the final hand, both players pushed millions of chips to the center for an all-in move preflop. Hougaard produced pocket Q's to the A 10 of Cody Slaubaugh. The table showed Q 8 2 5 A, giving Hougaard a set on the flop and the win. He, just like his idol Gus Hansen, now has a title of champion associated with his name.

  1. Jesper Hougaard $610,304
  2. Cody Slaubaugh $389,128
  3. Aaron Kanter $258,862
  4. Danny Wong $217,110
  5. Doug Middleton $177,028
  6. Justin Wald $140,286
  7. Rick Solis $106,884
  8. Owen Crowe $81,833
  9. John Shipley $56,782

Site Map 2