2008 Event 44 No-Limit Hold’em w/Re-Buys

Online Casino Real Money
World Poker Tour
2008 World Series of Poker
2008 WSOP Event Schedule and Reports
WSOP Archives

2008 WSOP Event 44 No-Limit Hold’em w/Re-Buys

Individual Event Reports

Event 44 No-Limit Hold’em w/Re-Buys Day 1

Statistics on event for Day 1:

  • Number of Entries 879
  • Number of Re-Buys 2,508
  • Net Prize Pool $3,240,174
  • Total Spots Paid Out 81
  • First Place Prize $693,444
Players at the end of the day, 115.
  1. Jamel Maistriaux 169,300
  2. Curt Kohlberg 158,700
  3. Brent Hanks 154,300
  4. Simon Ravnsbaek 153,000
  5. Rene Mouritsen 135,400
  6. Mark Seif 133,000
  7. Dan Lu 132,700
  8. John Hoang 125,300
  9. Faraz Jaka 116,400

Event 44 No-Limit Hold’em w/Re-Buys Day 2

Payouts for the final table players:

  1. $693,444
  2. $445,523
  3. $267,314
  4. $223,572
  5. $183,069
  6. $144,187
  7. $111,786
  8. $87,484
  9. $63,183
For the 115 players that were left, it was crunch time. At 3:00 pm they all sat down to see who would get to the final table. Mark Seif seemed destined to continue on the hot streak he established yesterday, making lots of big hands and being rewarded for his efforts. But three hours into play he ran into trouble and ended up being eliminated. Zachary Clark who had a least 27,900 from Day 1 also was busted, after his all-in with the remainder of his chips holding 8 5 suited ran into a pair of A's by the river.

Once the river was made, the short stacks went all-in by the droves, busting out left and right headed straight for the cashier's cage for the money earned. Some of the names that did not continue in the struggle for a final table seat were Humberto Brenes $7,776, Alan Jaffray $9,720, Stuart Fox $9,720, Men "The Master" Nguyen $9,720, Justin Pechie $11,664, Terrence Chan $14,904, Mark Seif $18,144, J.C. Tran $18,144, Alan Sass $18,144, Joe Tehan $23,653 and Eric Froehlich $31,753. Those who were fortunate will meet for the last time in this event tomorrow at 2:00 pm.
  1. Jesse Chinni 2,160,000
  2. Rene Mouritsen 1,007,000
  3. Albert Iversen 921,000
  4. Max Greenwood 728,000
  5. Scott Freeman 675,000
  6. Phung Ngo 556,000
  7. Alex Bolotin 308,000
  8. Curt Kohlberg 209,000
  9. Dzianisau Aliaksandr 186,000

Event 44 No-Limit Hold’em w/Re-Buys Final Table

Event Notes from the WSOP:

The 2008 $1,000 buy-in No-Limit Hold'em with Re-Buys champion is Max Greenwood. He is 23-years-old. Greenwood is a recent college graduate. The prize pool which totaled more than $3.2 million is the largest in WSOP history for this event. Greenwood becomes the third Canadian citizen to win a gold bracelet at this year's WSOP. Greenwood won $693,444 for first place. This was his fifth time to cash within two years. His previous finishes include 53rd, 42nd, 24th, and 48th.

The final table began at 2 pm and ended at 7:30 pm, which totaled a relatively fast 5.5 hours of play. The final two players attracted large and enthusiastic cheering sections. In fact, with so much chanting and cheering during the later stages of play, the final table resembled a European soccer match more than a poker game. Rene Mouritsen's fan club of Danes wore golden crowns, while Max Greenwood's Canadian supporters adorned their seating territory with a massive trail of empty cans of Milwaukee's Best Light beer. The rival camps mixed together and toasted the winner at the end of the match.

The Event #44 winner Max Greenwood is to be classified as an amateur player. This was his first major tournament victory. Furthermore, he recently graduated from college. Accordingly, the "Pro-Am" gold bracelet scoreboard currently reads:

Professionals – 32 wins
Amateurs -- 10 wins
Semi-Pros -- 2 wins

  1. Max Greenwood $693,392
  2. Rene Mouritsen $445,523
  3. Albert Iverson $267,314
  4. Scott Freeman $223,572
  5. Jesse Chinni $183,069
  6. Aliaksandr Dzianisau $144,187
  7. Curt Kohlberg $111,786
  8. Phung Ngo $87,484
  9. Alex Bolotin $63,183

Site Map 2