2008 Event 46 No-Limit Hold'em / Six Handed

Online Casino Real Money
World Poker Tour
2008 World Series of Poker
2008 WSOP Event Schedule and Reports
WSOP Archives

2008 WSOP Event 46 No-Limit Hold'em / Six Handed

Individual Event Reports

Event #46 -- No-Limit Hold'em / Six Handed Day 1

With this event we will have to fill in the details later, but you have the results for now.

Statistics for Event:

  • Number of Entries 805
  • Net Prize Pool $3,783,500
  • Total Spots Paid Out 78
  • First Place Prize $911,855
Top 9 with chip counts:
  1. Jesper Petersen 204,000
  2. Aaron Wilt 181,500
  3. Michael Goldberg 176,600
  4. Davidi Kitai 176,200
  5. Bertrand Grospellier 172,400
  6. Joe Commisso 170,200

Event #46 -- No-Limit Hold'em / Six Handed Day 2

Payouts for final table players:

  1. $911,855
  2. $570,551
  3. $368,891
  4. $245,927
  5. $174,041
  6. $120,693
Final Table Players:
  1. Richard Lyndaker 2,345,000
  2. Joe Commisso 1,961,000
  3. Tom Lutz 1,493,000
  4. Sam Trickett 1,000,450
  5. Edward Ochana 928,000
  6. Davidi Kitai 298,000

Event #46 -- No-Limit Hold'em / Six Handed Final Table

Event News from the WSOP:

Six-Handed Hold'em emphasizes short-handed poker skills. Rather than a full table of nine players, each table is played six-handed (or less, as players bust out). This generally requires competitors to play cards out of the standard range of starting-hand requirements. It also makes post-flop skill paramount to victory. The game was included on the WSOP schedule as a concerted effort to measure as diverse a range of poker skills as possible.

The defending champion for this event was Bill Edler. He did not enter this tournament. This brings the current streak to 45 straight non-cashes for defending champions in their respective events. The tournament was played over three consecutive days. Day Two went much longer than expected, lasing about 15 hours. On Day Three, the final table was played on the ESPN main stage and was broadcast live by Bluff Media on ESPN360. The 2008 Six-Handed No-Limit Hold'em champion is Joe Commisso. He is a 28-year-old poker pro. Prior to playing poker for a living, Commisso was an online day trader (stocks). Commisso won $911,830 for first place. This was his first WSOP gold bracelet victory. This was his first time ever to cash at the WSOP.

The final table began at 2 pm and ended at 11:30 pm, which totaled 9.5 hours of play. The heads-up match between Commisso and Lyndaker was epic in both length and drama. The two finalists played over 200 hands together heads up. By contrast, it took only about 70 hands to eliminate the first four players from the finale. The heads-up match was quite memorable as Lyndaker managed to double-up an astounding 12 consecutive times against Commisso. On 10 of those 12 hands, the worst hand (at the start) ended up scooping the pot. On the 13th confrontation, with Commisso holding onto a precarious 2 to 1 advantage, he managed to finally bust his stubborn adversary.

  1. Joe Commisso $911,855
  2. Richard Lyndaker $570,551
  3. Edward Ochana $368,891
  4. Sam Trickett $245,927
  5. Tom Lutz $174,041
  6. Davidi Kitai $120,693

Site Map 2